2015-08-13 / Top News

PHOTOGRAPHED

FLORIDA W EKLY STAFF

EVERYONE’S A PHOTOGRAPHER THESE days. There were 800 billion pictures taken around the world last year, according to one estimate. About 100 billion of those snapshots were uploaded to Facebook. Kids’ first days at school. Cats. Last night’s vegan dinner fajitas. Selfies in line at the theater. More cats.

Photography has become a pedestrian affair.

So what separates the art from the rest of it? Like the obscene and the divine, we may not always know how to define it, but we know photographic art when we see it. Or rather, we feel it. Composition, lighting, perspective and subject matter all come together with the ineffable passion of the person behind the lens. The artists’ pictures touch our hearts, grab us by our throats or raise the hairs on the backs of our necks.

As something of an antidote to the commonplace snapshots of the modern age, we’ve compiled a sampling of photographs from some of Florida’s finest picture takers. Perhaps they’ll inspire the rest of us to take better pictures, or better yet, not to take any at all. ¦


Chris Kovaz chriskovazphotography.com Chris Kovaz chriskovazphotography.com — Photos curated and arranged by Eric Raddatz eraddatz@floridaweekly.com





Melinda Moore com; artfulhome.com photoartbymelinda. Melinda Moore com; artfulhome.com photoartbymelinda.

Matt Stock
fotofusion.org
Mr. Stock, the artist in residence at the Palm Beach
Photographic Centre, captured the FOTOfusion 2016 icon
photograph. The annual festival of all things photography
takes place Jan. 19-23, 2016.

Matt Stock
fotofusion.org
Mr. Stock, the artist in residence at the Palm Beach Photographic Centre, captured the FOTOfusion 2016 icon photograph. The annual festival of all things photography takes place Jan. 19-23, 2016.


Alain Bossous visual2point0.com Alain Bossous visual2point0.com


Mila Bridger
milabridger.com Mila Bridger milabridger.com

Valerie Roche valerieroche.com Valerie Roche valerieroche.com


Michelle Tricca michelletricca.com As an environmental portrait photographer, Ms. Tricca incorporates her human subjects with elements of nature. This is from the Khyra on Piling series, which pays homage to the eroding historic pilings on Naples Beach. Michelle Tricca michelletricca.com As an environmental portrait photographer, Ms. Tricca incorporates her human subjects with elements of nature. This is from the Khyra on Piling series, which pays homage to the eroding historic pilings on Naples Beach.

Garth G th Francis com GarthFrancis. Garth G th Francis com GarthFrancis.

Paul Rodino paulrodino.com Paul Rodino paulrodino.com

Mike Kiniry mikekiniry.com “I took that with my phone and posted it to Imgur, but inverted it first because I thought it looked really trippy that way and sure enough so did a lot of other people... it got more than half a million views in 24 hours (my first truly viral image). So, I figured if you guys were to use that one it should be in its natural state, which is upside down and backwards like this.” Mike Kiniry mikekiniry.com “I took that with my phone and posted it to Imgur, but inverted it first because I thought it looked really trippy that way and sure enough so did a lot of other people... it got more than half a million views in 24 hours (my first truly viral image). So, I figured if you guys were to use that one it should be in its natural state, which is upside down and backwards like this.”

Clyde Butcher clydebutcher.com Clyde Butcher clydebutcher.com

Return to top